We no longer support this web browser. Upgrade your browser for a better experience.

The 22-23 football season is now in full swing, it's almost time for the PFA Awards. We thought it would be a great opportunity to reflect on the 21-22 winners.
Vertu Motors

PFA Players' Player of The Year Award Winners 2021-22 Season

PFA Players' Player of The Year Award Winners 2021-22 Season

The 22-23 football season now is now in full swing, which means it’s nearly time for the PFA Awards to kick off. Before it starts, we thought it would be a great opportunity to reflect on the 21-22 winners to see who won big at the annual awards.

The awards recognise the top performers in English football and last season’s winners were announced in June, with Mohammed Salah and Sam Kerr taking the Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year awards.

Members of the association vote for two players, with a shortlist of nominees released in April, and winners are chosen by members of the Players’ Trade Union and The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA). The award is regarded as one of the top accolades in football.

Find out the full list of winners below:

Mohamed Salah - Men's PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah was voted the Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year for a second time after winning the award in 2018. Salah saw off competition from rival Kevin De Bruyne, as well as Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane, and teammates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

The Liverpool player and Egyptian team captain led Egypt to the African Cup of Nations Final back in February. Salah also helped Liverpool reach the Champion’s League final against Real Madrid, scoring eight goals throughout the successful FA Cup campaign.

Sam Kerr - Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Following two nominations in a row, Chelsea’s Sam Kerr has been named the Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year. Her impressive performance throughout last season also saw her make the PFA WSL (Women’s Super League) Team of The Year.

Kerr was also named WSL Player of the Season in May this year and voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year. Scoring 20 goals throughout the last WSL season, Sam also scored double in the final WSL game of the season against Manchester United to help Chelsea win a third consecutive league title.

Phil Foden - Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Manchester City’s Phil Foden was awarded his second consecutive PFA Young Player of The Year award, joining previous winners Ryan Giggs, Robbie Fowler, Wayne Rooney, and Dele Alli, who have all won the award twice.

Starting his professional career in 2017, Foden is now regarded as one of the best young players in the world, at just 22 years old. Winning four titles with City, Foden also holds a Guinness World Record for the youngest player to win the Premier League after City’s title win in 2018.

Lauren Hemp - Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Winning the Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year, Manchester City’s Lauren Hemp has made history as the first four-time winner of the award.

Hemp became the latest City centurion in April 2022, celebrating the milestone of 100 appearances, and scored the club’s 100th goal of the season in a match against Brighton and Hove Albion.

After representing Team GB at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Lauren was named in the preliminary squad for Euro 2022 and helped secure the team’s historic win at Wembley Stadium.

Roy Hodgson and Hope Powell - PFA Merit Award

The PFA Merit Award was awarded to former England managers Roy Hodgson and Hope Powell, celebrating their long service to football.

Announcing his retirement at the end of last season, Hodgson has enjoyed a long and illustrious football career. With a short stint on the pitch, Hodgson’s 40-year career has taken him all over the world, managing teams in Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, and Finland, before being appointed England manager in 2012.

Brighton and Hove Albion Manager, Hope Powell, was recognised for her incredible contribution to the women’s game. Powell has been an influential figure, both on and off the pitch.

With a career spanning over four decades, Hope Powell has paved the way for entire generations of women footballers and coaches. Powell became the first ever National Coach of England’s Lionesses, the first woman and non-white person to be appointed England manager, and the first woman to achieve the UEFA Pro License.

As well as the PFA Players’ Player of the Year awards, fans also have the chance to vote throughout the season for the PFA Vertu Motors Fans' Player of the Month.

Six players from each of the top five professional leagues in England are shortlisted and fans have the deciding vote on who takes the title.

Excited for the new season?

Keep an eye on our newsroom to find out when the first shortlist for the 2022-23 season is announced and how you can cast your vote.